Calculating Child Support
The Colorado Legislature adopted the Colorado Child Support Guidelines for use when a child's parents are divorced, separated or unmarried. The guidelines make sure that a fair share of each parent's income and resources are given to the child.
A basic support obligation is determined using the monthly gross incomes of both parents and information about what intact families spend on their children. The parents share the basic support obligation based upon their gross incomes. The noncustodial parent's share of the obligation establishes the amount of the child support order. The amount of child support a parent pays can also be affected by the amount of overnights with the child. The parents also share the costs for childcare, medical insurance and uninsured medical expenses. The child support amount calculated using the guidelines is accepted as appropriate unless either parent shows a reason for a deviation. If the noncustodial parent's monthly gross income is between $900 and $1,900 s/he may be eligible for a low-income adjustment to the amount of child support paid.
- Instructions and guideline worksheets for calculating the amount of
child support owed are available by mail or in Microsoft Word or Adobe
Acrobat Reader formats from the Colorado
Judicial Department website.
- The Colorado Judicial Department's electronic worksheet is available for use with Microsoft Excel under the Domestic/Family folder.
Section 14-10-115, C.R.S.
|Colorado State Colorado Department of Human Services Division of Child Support Services eCSS Site MapContact Information|
|Get Adobe Reader Privacy & SecurityAccessibility©2012 State of Colorado, Denver, CO|